Westosha Central’s Connor Muff sets up a play against Racine Horlick in the WIAA sectional semifinal. Muff and senior teammate Jack Polick were named honorable mention all-state by the Wisconsin Boys Volleyball Coaches Association (Earlene Frederick/The Report).

Among five participating Southern Lakes Conference boys volleyball teams, just one has representation on the Wisconsin Boys Volleyball Coaches Association 2017 All-State team, Westosha Central High School.

The representatives, setter Connor Muff and libero Jack Polick, received acknowledgment as honorable mention all-state after their senior seasons.

Muff, Westosha Central’s all-time assists leader, pitched 902 assists in 2017 and added 177 digs along with a team-leading 50 service aces.

Meanwhile, for Polick, who was named the SLC Player of the Year, the senior defender dove in for 504 digs while contributing 77 assists and 27 service aces.

Westosha Central, which finished 6-2 in the SLC, completed its season with a 24-14 overall record.

While the Falcons duo received honorable mention, the WBVCA named Conor Ward of Milwaukee Marquette as Player of the Year, according to an organization press release.

Ward, a senior setter, helped his Hilltoppers team to two state volleyball championships in his four-year career.

Tom Belling, of Kaukana, was named the Gary Sorenson Coach of the Year.

Wisconsin Boys Volleyball Coaches Association
All-State Team

Player of the Year: Conor Ward, sr, S, Milwaukee Marquette

Gary Sorensen Coach of the Year: Tom Belling, Kaukauna

Bryce Behrendt, jr, OH, Germantown; Ben Brochtrup, sr, OH, Kaukauna; TJ Driver, sr, MH, Milwaukee Pius XI; Kyle Kraininger, sr, OH, New Berlin United; Thomas Robson, sr, L, Middleton; Liam Schroeder, sr, MH, Milwaukee Marquette.

James Althoff, sr, OH, Tremper; Dom Coello, sr, OH, Catholic Memorial; Aidan Frazier, sr, OPP, Milwaukee Marquette; Dan Hiroskey, sr, L, Kaukauna; Sean Shtivelberg, sr, OH, Nicolet; Brian Voight, jr, S, New Berlin United.

Tyler Christensen, sr, OH, Bradford; Ben Foley, sr, L, Milwaukee Marquette; Mitch Geiger, jr, OH, Muskego; Gavin Julien, jr, MH, Whitefish Bay; Sam Radtke, sr, OH, Kimberly; Jacob Sirny, sr, MH, Brookfield East.

Austin Bella, sr, OPP, Kaukauna; Stevie Bresser, sr, OH, Homestead; Danny Butler, sr, OH, Brookfield East; Gino D’Alessio, sr, OH, Milwaukee Pius XI; Lucas Eggers, sr, OH, Indian Trail; Christopher Freedy, sr, OPP, Brookfield East; Joe Freeman, jr, OPP, Kettle Moraine; Caleb Freiburger, sr, MH, Kettle Moraine; Sam Heiman, jr, MH, Madison East; Zach Just, sr, OH, New Berlin United; Jeremy Kirch, sr, OH, Arrowhead; Jacob Larsen, sr, S, Green Bay Notre Dame; Andrew Lepage, sr, S, Middleton; Ben Miller, sr, MH, Wauwatosa East; Will Monroe, sr, S, Appleton North; Connor Muff, sr, S, Westosha; Kyle Olson, sr, L, New Berlin United; Daniel Payne, sr, S, Whitefish Bay; Jack Polick, sr, L, Westosha; Carter Schmidt, jr, OPP, Germantown; Kyle Semrad, sr, OH, Racine Horlick; Luke Taylor, jr, MH, Germantown; Brian Vergenz, sr, MH, Middleton.


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment