Wilmot senior Tanner Peterson heads to the dugout during a game against visiting Waterford earlier this season. Peterson, an Illinois State University commit, earned first team All-State recognition (Jason Arndt/The Report).

Wilmot senior outfielder invited to All-Star Classic

By Jason Arndt
Staff Writer

Tanner Peterson, already named to the Southern Lakes Conference first team, added more accolades from the Wisconsin Baseball Coaches Association.

The recent Wilmot Union High School graduate and future Illinois State University Redbird was named first team All-Southeast District on June 10, followed by a first team All-State honor three days later.

In addition, Peterson was invited to play in the All-Star Classic, a senior showcase, which will be held June 28-29 at EJ Schneider Field in Oshkosh.

He will play on the East team, which includes future ISU teammate and pitcher Trey Krause, who graduated from Burlington.

Joining Peterson and Krause on the team from the Southern Lakes Conference are Burlington’s Trent Turzenski and Luke Hansel from Union Grove.

Peterson said he looks forward to playing with his conference opponents as teammates in the all-star game.

“I get to play with all of the other top seniors in the state and just seeing how I match up with them,” he said in a phone interview last Friday from Normal, Illinois. “I would like to see how our conference stacks up with the others in the state.”

His trifecta of achievements follows a banner season in which he notched career highs in nearly every statistical category, including batting average (.468), runs (30), hits (37), RBIs (35), doubles (eight) and triples (three).

Peterson, who mashed a career best seven home runs, five better than his junior season, also tabulated career marks in on-base percentage (.583) and slugging percentage (.911).

“I knew I had it in me, so it was just a matter of putting in all of the work,” Peterson said.

On the mound, Peterson finished 6-3 with a 3.02 ERA, struck out 64 and walked 21 through 53-1/3 innings.

Looking ahead
While his Wilmot career draws to a close, Peterson looks forward to the future, which includes teaming up with Krause and his older brother, Gunner, who will be a sophomore at ISU in the fall.

“It is great. Trey is a good guy, and I am down at summer school with him right now and we are hanging out,” he said. “I am looking forward to playing with him because I spent years playing against him.”

As for his brother, he feels fortunate to reunite and has created bonds with his future Redbird teammates during summer school.

“I have been playing with my brother since I was 6 years old, and it is going to be a super fun time,” he said. “I met some of the other guys and just can’t wait to work with them.”

Salerno recognized
Meanwhile, on the All-Southeast District team, Westosha Central senior outfielder Alex Salerno earned honorable mention as the lone Falcons’ representative.

The eventual Heartland Community College player (Normal, Ill.) batted .369, collected nine doubles, knocked in 15 runs and scored 18 times during his senior season.

All Southeast District Teams
Players of the Year: Trey Krause, Burlington, Division 1; Luke Hansel, Division 2, Union Grove; Tyler Brandenburg, Lake Country Lutheran, Division 3; Justin Swanson, Johnson Creek, Division 4.
First Team: P – Trey Krause, Burlington; Luke Hansel, Union Grove; Jacob Wilde, Waukesha West; C – Colin Kalinowski, Oak Creek; IF – Tyler Brandenburg, Lake Country Lutheran; Reese Dutton, Tremper; Paul Toetz, Greendale; Xavier Watson, South Milwaukee; TJ Manteufel, Union Grove; OF – Spencer Kent, Franklin; Gunnar Doyle, Oak Creek; Tanner Peterson, Wilmot; U – Luke Fox, Catholic Memorial.
Second Team: P – Jarrett Ramer, Bradford; Trent Turzinski, Burlington; Jake Zimmermann, Union Grove; C – Keegan Kapocius, Greendale; IF – Chris Byhre, Catholic Memorial; Colton Coca, Racine Case; Spencer Lehmann, Bradford; Ryan Kendziorski, Whitnall; Isaac Lindsey, Mineral Point; Colin Austin, Belmont; OF – Alex Cyskiewicz, Catholic Memorial; Ismael Bastardo, St. Francis; Reyshawn Sprewer, Pius XI; Cody Tostrud, Bradford; U – Grant Ross, Pewaukee.
Honorable Mention: Jason Adams, Burlington; Max Bruff, Indian Trail; Torin Byrnes, Tremper; Jack Clark, Union Grove; Simon Dembiec, Lake Country Lutheran; Tyler Drezek, West Allis Central; Simon Feurstenberg, Deerfield; Carson Galla, Deerfield; Jared Heinzen, Tremper; Mark Herold, Kettle Moraine; Steve Jamroziak, Muskego; Carson Knapp, Deerfield; Ben LaRonge, Deerfield; Chance Larson, Elkhorn; Jack Leverenz, Lake Country Lutheran; Danny Perdzock, Milwaukee Lutheran; Nate Platter, Oconomowoc; Jorden Rauch, West Allis Central; Grant Ross, Pewaukee; Nick Rupprecht, Lake Country Lutheran; Alex Salerno, Westosha Central; Justin Swanson, Johnson Creek; Cooper Tamblyn, Muskego; Miller Wallace, Oconomowoc; Cam Wiczek, Whitnall; Nic Wohlfiel, Arrowhead.

All-State Baseball Teams
First Team: P – Connor Prielipp, Tomah; Trey Krause Burlington; Ben Hampton, West De Pere; C – Nate Stevens, Waunakee; IF – Marcus Cline, Fall Creek; Seth Coker, Athens; IF – Max Wagner, Green Bay Preble; Dan Blomgren, Janesville Craig; OF – Sam Stange, Eau Claire North; Tanner Peterson, Wilmot; Cory Walker, Beloit Turner; U – Donovan Brandl, Wis. Rapids; Jack Washburn, Webster.
Second Team: P – Hunter Vikemyr, Viroqua; John Nett, Kimberly; Mitchell Woelfle, Janesville Craig; C – Colin Kalinowski, Oak Creek; IF – Bailey Banaszynski, Brookfield East; Owen Washburn, Webster; Paul Toetz, Greendale; Tyler Tetzke, Appleton West; Liam Stumpf, Mineral Point; OF – Hunter Slaats, Sussex Hamilton; OF – Dylan Nevar, Wisconsin Dells; OF – Brady Renfroe, Antigo; U – Eric Erato, Sussex Hamilton.
Third Team: P – Jace Kressin, Menomonie; Shane Ryan, Markesan; Luke Hansel, Union Grove; C – Zane Schreiner, Rib Lake; IF – Adam Hill, Wauwatosa East; Drew Hennessey, Highland; Xavier Watson, South Milwaukee; Spencer Hans, Lake Mills; OF – Gunnar Doyle, Oak Creek; Zach Boehnlein, Chilton; Nic Koenig, Howards Grove; U – Gavin Gillitzer, Prairie du Chien.
Honorable Mention: P – Chris Barnes, Sussex Hamilton; Tommy Lamb, Grafton; Caden Bronkhorst, Waupun; Nevin Wall, Holmen; Joe Stoffel, River Falls; Hunter Rosenbaum, Webster; Jacob Wilde, Waukesha West; Cade Alexander, Medford; Ryan Stefiuk, Green Bay Preble; Jett Thielke, Bay Port; Nick Carpenter, Lake Mills; Sebastian Noskowiak, Antigo;
C – Cooper Schlosser, West Bend East; Ethan Toone, Brookfield East; Trevon Van Egtern, La Crosse Central; Justin Baehler, Mineral Point; Trevor Gustafson, Webster; Tyler Landgraf, Random Lake; Jacob Debruin, Manitowoc Lincoln; B.J. Konkel, Green Lake/Princeton;
IF – Logan Mantz, Slinger; Brady Marget, Whitefish Bay; Jacob Berendes, Shullsburg/Benton; Colton Schraepfer, Pecatonica; Anthony Pogodzinski, Eau Claire North; Justin Sedin, Northwestern; Tyler Brandenburg, Lake Country Luth.; Reese Dutton, Tremper; T.J. Manteufel, Union Grove; Carter Hanke, Marathon; Jaden Werner, Crivitz; Eric Langseth, Antigo; Colton Wright, Auburndale; Noah Miller, Ozaukee; Luke Renard, Wrightstown; Fletcher Dallas, Valders; Joe Hauser, Waunakee; Reece Samuel, McFarland;
OF – Michael Lippe, Whitefish Bay; Cade Jahns, Ripon; Grady Gorgen, Mineral Point; Kevin Koelbl, Holmen; Jaden Schwantz, River Falls; Mitchel Voller, Eau Claire Memorial; Spenser Kent, Franklin; Carter Kurki, Iola-Scandinavia; Brady Franz, Stevens Point; Zach Kehl, Hustisford-Dodgeland; Alex Ryan, Lakeside Lutheran; Spencer Bartel, Sun Prairie; Jack Krumbach, Madison Memorial;
Utility – Cade Osborn, Eau Claire Regis; Luke Fox, Catholic Memorial; Will Semb, De Pere; Nick Smith, Waunakee; Andrew Newton, Edgewood.


Comments are closed

Sorry, but you cannot leave a comment for this post.