Wisconsin 4-H Youth Development announced the 2021 Hall of Fame Laureates including twelve volunteers, supporters, and staff who have impacted Wisconsin 4-H, like Carl and Shirley Daniels of Kenosha County.

Shirley and Carl Daniels

According to a news release, Carl and Shirley Daniels, both 4-H volunteers, will be inducted in memoriam of Shirley Daniels.

Carl and Shirley Daniels fostered youth development in Kenosha County and across the state for more than 60 years, Wisconsin 4-H Youth Development states.

Shirley’s experience began as a 4-H youth in Racine County and later married Carl in 1954.

“Even before their seven children joined 4-H, Carl and Shirley became Brighton Explorers 4-H club leaders,” 4-H Youth Development states. “Shirley wanted her children involved in 4-H because she knew that the program instilled youth with knowledge, leadership and service opportunities.”

Together, they served as general leaders for 25 years and clothing project leaders for 50 years.

Wisconsin 4-H Youth Development, meanwhile, said both Carl and Shirley Daniels played key roles in Kenosha County 4-H programs.

Carl grew the dairy club membership, doubling the number of members and animals shown.

Shirley initially taught sewing at the club level and then as the countywide sewing leader, organizing and leading sewing workshops for hundreds.

As a result of her leadership, Shirley was appointed 4-H clothing superintendent at the fair and instructed sewers as a county fair judge for over 30 years. Shirley later served as Kenosha County’s first 4-H Staff Assistant. Carl served as a Director of the Kenosha County Fair and Advisor to the Wisconsin State Fairest of the Fairs competition.

Both were community leaders beyond 4-H.

Carl served in leadership roles for Farm Bureau, AMPI, agricultural boards (ASCS) and bank director for Marine/Bank One.

Shirley served as the first female President of the Westosha Central School Board, spearheading the first significant high school expansion in over 30 years that included a new gymnasium, cafeteria, music, and computer rooms. Known as doers; their leadership impacted many Kenosha County families, organizations, and communities beyond Extension.

Other 2021 Hall of Fame laureates include Lois Anderson, Barron County 4-H Volunteer and Pioneer; Barbara Baker, retired Waushara County 4-H Youth Development Agent; Orabelle Fisher, Manitowoc County 4-H Pioneer, in memoriam; Brian and Kathy Holten, Barron County 4-H volunteers, Barron County 4-H Extension; Helen O’Brien, UW Extension Drama Specialist – Pioneer, in memoriam; Nadine Pfotenhaur, Dane County 4-H Volunteer; Robert and Mari Schmidt, Ozaukee County 4-H Volunteers; and Sheila Vander Zanden, Outagamie County 4-H Volunteer.

“This year’s laureates have each accomplished so much and I feel sincere gratitude for their contributions to 4-H youth and many years of leadership in both volunteer and staff roles,” says Matt Calvert, Wisconsin 4-H Program Leader and Director of the Institute for Positive Youth Development, University of Wisconsin-Madison Division of Extension. “They have provided the sparks that ignited new interests, and supported the positive development of countless youth and volunteers. Please join me in celebrating each laureate’s generosity and passion for 4-H and their many contributions to their communities.”

The Wisconsin 4-H Hall of Fame was established to recognize 4-H volunteers, financial supporters, staff and pioneers who made major contributions to the 4-H movement at the local, state and national levels. The candidates represent 4-H in the broadest sense – people who had an impact on the lives of children, their community or state through significant contributions of time, energy or financial resources to 4-H and its members.


No comments

Be the first one to leave a comment.

Post a Comment


Local weather